Proceedings of the Board of Education Independent School District #2180 Regular Meeting #7 January 8, 2018 6:00 PM High School Media Center

Members Present: Lane Schwitters, Deb Brandt, Scott Ruiter, Tate Mueller, Carmel Thein, Julie Alsum Others Present: Sherri Broderius, Superintentent; Melissa Sparks, HS Principal; Judd Wheatley, Elementary Principal, Kim Sandry, Business Manager, Jim Trulock, Activities Director, Eric Sietsema, Technology Coordinator, Josie Oliver, Newspaper.

Chairman Lane Schwitters called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm. Pledge of Allegiance

Motion by Brandt, second by Thein to approve the agenda as presented. Motion passed by unanimous vote.

Annual Reorganization:

Election of Officers:

Board Chair:

Nominations: Lane Schwitters by Thein, Deb Brandt by Alsum all three times. 1st vote: Tied 3-3, Schwitters, Ruiter, Thein for Schwitters, Brandt, Alsum, Mueller for Brandt. 2nd vote: Tied 3-3, Schwitters, Ruiter, Thein for Schwitters, Brandt, Alsum, Mueller for Brandt. 3rd vote: Tied 3-3, Schwitters, Ruiter, Thein for Schwitters, Brandt, Alsum, Mueller for Brandt. Schwitters declared acting Board Chair until a deciding vote can be made according to MSBA.

Vice Chair:

Nomination: Carmel Thein by Schwitters, Tate Mueller by Brandt, all three times. 1st vote: Tied 3-3, Schwitters, Ruiter, Thein for Thein, Brandt, Alsum, Mueller for Mueller. 2nd vote: Tied 3-3, Schwitters, Ruiter, Thein for Thein, Brandt, Alsum, Mueller for Mueller. 3rd vote: Tied 3-3, Schwitters, Ruiter, Thein for Thein, Brandt, Alsum, Mueller for Mueller. No Vice Chair elected. This position is not required.

<u>Clerk</u>:

Nominations: Julie Alsum by Brandt. Vote: Julie Alsum declared clerk.

Treasurer:

Nominations: Scott Ruiter by Brandt. Ruiter declared Treasurer.

Committee Appointments:

Motion by Ruiter, second by Mueller to appoint the following board members to the committees as listed. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Community Education: Deb Brandt Continuing Education: Lane Schwitters District Advisory Committee: Tate Mueller Facilities/Health and Safety: Tate Mueller, Julie Alsum, Deb Brandt Finance/Negotiations: Lane Schwitters, Scott Ruiter, Carmel Thein. LCTN Governing Board: Lane Schwitters Legislative Liaison (MSBA/MREA): Deb Brandt Transportation: Julie Alsum, Tate Mueller

Board Compensation Rates:

Motion by Brandt, second by Ruiter to set the Board compensation rates as listed below. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Regular Board meeting: \$100 Committee Meeting: \$75 Meetings over 4 hours: \$100 All Day Working Sessions: \$100 MSBA/MREA Workshops: \$75 MSBA/MREA Workshops over 4 hours: \$100 Chair: \$500 Clerk: \$100 Treasurer: \$100 Mileage: Federal Mileage Rate \$.545

Official Designation:

Motion by Thein, second by Mueller, to set the official designations as follows. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Depositories: Citizen's Alliance Bank, Heritage Bank, MSDLAF

Meeting Dates: Second Monday of every month in the Media Center at the High School Meeting Time: 6:00 pm

Official Newspapers: Clara City Herald, Raymond-Prinsburg News

Notification Methods: District Office, website

Legal Counsel: Kennedy and Graven, Chartered

Signature Authorizations:

Motion by Ruiter, second by Schwitters, to set the following signature authorizations as follows. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Electronic Fund Transfers – Kim Sandry, Business Manager

- Cathy Schueler, Accounts Payable/Student Activities
- Nicole Kray Niemeyer Payroll/Purchasing
- Scott Ruiter, Treasurer
- Lane Schwitters, Chair

All Other Accounts and CD's: Kim Sandry, Business Manager

Cathy Schueler, Accounts Payable/Student Activities

Nicole Kray Niemeyer, Payroll/Purchasing

Safe Keeping Investment Securities:

Motion by Brandt, second by Alsum, to authorize the Business Manager to make investments in Federally insured/secured accounts which will yield the greatest interest rates and approve United Banker's Bank as Safe keeper of Citizen's Alliance Bank's pledged collateral as required by MN Statute 118A.03. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Approval of Consent Agenda:

Motion by Ruiter, second by Brandt, to approve the consent agenda as presented. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Communications Reports:

Eric Sietsema, Technology Report: Diamond Tower can do repairs on East and HS Towers. Denise Smith, Comm. Ed: absent – Kim Sandry distributed latest Community Ed Booklet Jim Trulock, Activities Report: Baseball field update, Tennis Courts update, Questions on Family Passes Judd Wheatley, Elem Report: Great workshop day, piloting curriculum, Jan. 22 First Grade will be split at West.

Melissa Sparks, HS Report: Great workshop day on Student Achievement, WOW awards, Sno week. Sherri Broderius, Supt: Great workshop day on Student Achievement.

Discussion Items:

Business Items:

Motion by Mueller, second by Thein, to approve the Resolution as follows: The MDE requires that school districts annually designate an Identified Official with Authority to comply with State Access Control Security Standard 1.0 which state that all user access rights to Minnesota state systems must be reviewed and recertified at least annually. The Identified Official with Authority will assign job duties and authorize external user's access to MDE secure systems for their local eduation agency. The Director recommends the Board authorize Sherri Broderius to act as the Identified Official with Authority (IoWA) and Kim Sandry as the IoWA to add and remove names only for the MACCRAY School District 2180-01. Call vote: Schwitters, yes, Alsum, yes, Brandt, yes, Thein, yes, Ruiter, yes, Mueller, yes. Resolution passed.

Motion by Brandt, second by Mueller, to approve the first reading of Policy 704-Capitalization. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Brandt, second by Alsum, to approve the contract for PACT for Families Membership. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Ruiter, second by Brandt, to approve the MOU with MEA addressing Danceline coaching pay. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Public comment: none.

<u>Meetings and Workshops:</u> Committee Meetings – TBD MSBA Leadership conference, Jan 11-12, Minneapolis Regular Board Meeting, Feb. 12, 6:00pm HS Media Center.

Adjournment of Meeting

Motion by Ruiter, second by Thein, for adjournment. Motion carried by unanimous vote. Meeting adjourned at 7:03pm.

Julie Alsum, Clerk Kim Sandry